h1

Starship Troopers and the Nine-Year-Old: Heinlein at 100

July 26, 2007

heinlein2.jpgRobert Heinlein influenced me deeply. In ways I won’t ever fully know. I read Starship Troopers when I was nine, and it was the title that set fully ablaze an already-smouldering early love for the written word. Whatever else might be said about its political or cultural overtones, it remains a smashing, action-packed story that grabbed a hold of my young imagination and never really let go.

In later years, I discovered Stranger in a Strange Land — 10-15 years too late to catch its counter-culture heyday, but multiple readings still gave the desired mind-stretching effect.

With the one hundredth anniversary of Heinlein’s birth being celebrated this month, it seemed a good time to remember.

Read Taylor Dinerman’s look back at Heinlein’s legacy for the Wall Street Journal here. Jim Downey also recounts the events at the Heinlein Centennial Gala here.

(via Entertaining Research)

2 comments

  1. Heinlein was one of my favourites. I didn’t know Starship Troopers. And now I realise that many of the stories are just a faint memory. You’ve jogged me to go look in the dungeon for any old copies.


  2. It has actually been a decade or two since I’ve read a Heinlein book. I did watch the only-distantly-related (i.e., awful) film adaptation of Starship Troopers during that period, but that hardly counts. Now that I’m thinking about it too, maybe I’ll pick up Puppet Masters.



Comments are closed.

